Also names new service chiefs

President Muhammadu Buhari has fired the service chiefs led by Chief of Defence Staff, Gabriel Olonisakin.

Presidential Spokesperson, Femi Adesina, stated this in a tweet via his verified handle on Tuesday.

According to the tweet, Leo Irabor was named the new Chief of Defence Staff, I. Attahiru, Chief of Army Staff, A.Z. Gambo, Chief of Naval Staff, and I.O. Amao, Chief of Air Force.

Read Also  Breaking: FG suspends Twitter's operations in Nigeria

The sack of the outgone service chiefs followed renewed cries by Nigerians for their removal.

Prominent among the voices was that of the National Assembly.

After his Tweet, Mr Adesina released a statement saying Mr Buhari “accepted the immediate resignation of the Service Chiefs, and their retirement from service.”

The full statement by Mr Adesina:

President Muhammadu Buhari has accepted the immediate resignation of the Service Chiefs, and their retirement from service.

Read Also  Reps want fumigation of schools before re-opening

Those involved are the Chief of Defence Staff, General Abayomi Olonisakin; Chief of Army Staff, Lt-Gen. Tukur Buratai; Chief of Naval Staff, Vice Admiral Ibok Ekwe Ibas; and Chief of Air Staff, Air Marshal Sadique Abubakar.

President Buhari thanks the outgoing Service Chiefs for what he calls their “overwhelming achievements in our efforts at bringing enduring peace to our dear country,” wishing them well in their future endeavours.

Read Also  Buhari to commission Warri-Itakpe rail line September 29

The new Service Chiefs are: Major-General Leo Irabor, Chief of Defence Staff; Major-General I. Attahiru, Chief of Army Staff; Rear Admiral A.Z Gambo, Chief of Naval Staff; and Air-Vice Marshal I.O Amao, Chief of Air Staff.

The President congratulates the new Service Chiefs, and urges them to be loyal and dedicated in the discharge of their responsibilities.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *