The Delta State Independent Electoral Commission, DSIEC, has fixed Monday, June 29, 2020, for the conduct of bye-election to fill vacant councillorship positions in four electoral wards in the state.

ROLL VCR: The Chairman of the Commission, Chief Mike Ogbodu in a statement listed the affected wards to include Ward 18, Oyede in Isoko North, Ward 4, Abala in Ndokwa East, Ward 11, Okirighwre in Sapele and Ward 17, Okwuabude in Okpe Local Government Area.

Chief Ogbodu said in line with Covid-19 protocols, it is expected that all political parties, aspirants and their members shall carry out their campaigns on print and electronic media with no rallies or public gatherings.

He stated that such campaigns should be carried out with a motorcade, equipped with megaphones and or other public address systems deviod of body contacts, adding that all forms of campaigns are expected to end 48 hours to the Election Day.

According to the DSIEC Boss, all the polling units will be decontaminated as there shall also be compulsory wearing of face-masks, hand-washing and hand sanitizing by poll officials, security personnel and eligible voters.

Chief Ogbodu said mandatory checking of body temperature by health officials shall equally be carried out at designated polling stations prior to commencement of simultaneous accreditation and voting with social distancing fully observed.

In view of the foregoing, the DSIEC Chairman advised stakeholders, including leader of political parties and supporters, to be law abiding and maintain all the rules spelt out with a view to conducting a hitch-free bye-election.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *